Australia Awards Scholarships 2025 – Apply by April 30, 2024

Australia Awards Scholarships 2025

Share This Post

International students from developing nations, especially those in the Indo-Pacific region, have the opportunity to pursue full-time undergraduate or postgraduate studies at participating Australian universities and TAFE institutions through the Australia Awards Scholarships 2025.

The Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade is once again accepting applications for the Australia Awards Scholarships for the 2025-2026 cohort. These awards provide a unique opportunity for international students from developing nations, with a particular focus on the Indo-Pacific region, to undertake their undergraduate or postgraduate studies in Australia. More than just financial assistance, these scholarships provided by the Australian government aim to foster academic excellence, professional development, and cross-cultural understanding, aligning with Australia’s commitment to supporting its partner nations in their advancement efforts.

Understanding Australia Awards Scholarship Australia Awards Scholarships are long-term financial awards designed to support the developmental needs of Australia’s partner nations. They enable individuals from developing nations to pursue full-time undergraduate or postgraduate studies at Technical and Further Education (TAFE) institutions and participating universities in Australia. The scholarships aim to equip recipients with the knowledge and skills necessary to bring about positive change and contribute to the progress of their home countries.

Sponsorship Package of Australia Awards Scholarship

Degree Level:

Australian Government (Australia Awards) Scholarships for 2024, announced and open until April 30, 2024, are available to undertake Master’s level programs at Australian Universities.

Available Subjects:

All subjects are available to study under this scholarship program.

Scholarship Benefits:

The Australia Awards Scholarships for the 2025-2026 academic year aim to provide recipients with a comprehensive educational experience free from financial constraints. The benefits include:

  1. Tuition Fee Coverage:
    • The scholarship covers the entire tuition fees for the minimum duration required to successfully complete the academic program.
  2. Round-trip Airfare:
    • Recipients are entitled to a single-occupancy, economy class round-trip airfare to and from Australia.
  3. Establishment Allowance:
    • An exceptional payment designed to assist with the costs of housing, academic literature, and study supplies.
  4. Contribution to Living Expenses (CLE):
    • A contribution made every two weeks to cover the costs of essential living expenses.
  5. Introductory Academic Program (IAP):
    • The mandatory IAP provides details on studying and residing in Australia.
  6. Overseas Student Health Cover (OSHC):
    • Scholars are covered for essential medical expenses.
  7. Pre-course English Fees:
    • English language instruction may be provided if required.
  8. Academic Support:
    • Supplementary academic support is provided to further facilitate the academic achievement of scholars.
  9. Fieldwork Support (for research students):
    • Eligible research students receive a return economy class airfare for fieldwork.

Eligible Nationalities:

The eligible countries for the Australia Awards vary each year, generally including nations from the Indo-Pacific region, Africa, and the Middle East. Examples of eligible countries include:

  • From the Pacific: Fiji, Papua New Guinea, Solomon Islands, Vanuatu.
  • From Asia: Bangladesh, Indonesia, Myanmar, Pakistan, Philippines, Sri Lanka, Vietnam.
  • From Africa: Ghana, Kenya, Madagascar, Mozambique, Nigeria, South Africa, Tanzania.
  • From the Middle East: Palestinian Territories.

For an updated list of eligible countries for a specific year, please refer to the official Australia Awards website or relevant Australian government announcements.

Eligibility Criteria:

Applicants who are at least 18 years old, citizens of eligible nations, and capable of fulfilling Australia’s visa prerequisites are eligible to receive the scholarships. English language proficiency is an essential component of the eligibility requirements and can be assessed by submitting results from the TOEFL, PTE Academic, or IELTS examinations.

Proficiency Requirements in English:

To qualify for the Australia Awards Scholarship, candidates must meet specific English language requirements as of January 1, 2025. The minimum criteria are as follows:

  • A minimum score of 6.5 on the IELTS (Academic section), with no individual band falling below 6.0.
  • A TOEFL iBT score of 84 or higher, with a minimum of 21 in each sub-test.
  • A PTE Academic score of 58 or higher, with no communicative skill score falling below 50.

Application Procedure:

Applying for the Australia Awards Scholarship involves a streamlined process designed to facilitate efficient submission of applications. Follow these straightforward steps:

  1. Seek Acceptance from Professors:
    • Obtain acceptance from professors of Australian universities participating in the Australia Awards Scholarship.
  2. Check Eligibility:
    • Visit the official Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT) website to verify if your country is among the participating countries. Ensure you meet other eligibility criteria such as age, residency, and English language proficiency requirements.
  3. Prepare Documents:
    • Gather all necessary documents, including academic transcripts, degree certificates, proof of English language proficiency (TOEFL, IELTS, PTE scores), and any other required documents specified on the scholarship’s official website.
  4. Online Application via OASIS:
    • Register on the Online Australia Scholarships Information System (OASIS) to initiate your application. You will receive a unique username and password.
    • Fill in the application form carefully, upload all required documents, and submit your application before the deadline. Save a draft of your application as you progress, as it can be updated until the final submission.
  5. Email Application (If Necessary):
    • If you encounter issues with online submission, consult the scholarship’s official website for guidelines on submitting your application via email. This may involve downloading, filling, and sending the application form along with the required documents.

Application Deadline:

The application deadline for the Australia Awards Scholarship for the 2025-2026 batch is April 30, 2024.

Apply Now

Recent Blogs

More To Explore

PHD Scholarships

Master's Scholarships

Undergraduate Scholarships

Graduate Scholarships

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Get your Dream Scholarship stay updated