Commonwealth Distance Learning Master’s Scholarships Program 2023-24

Share This Post

The Commonwealth Distance Learning Master’s Scholarships for 2023/24 are available for citizens of Commonwealth countries who wish to pursue a Master’s degree program at a UK university without having to relocate. By applying for these scholarships, eligible candidates can receive full financial support.

The Commonwealth Scholarships

The Commonwealth Scholarships Commission offers three Master’s programs, including the Commonwealth Distance Learning Programme. This Commission is responsible for administering a scholarship scheme led by the UK government with a focus on international development goals. The scholarship opportunity is available to citizens of Commonwealth countries or refugees with a recognized status who reside permanently in developing Commonwealth countries.

Degree Level

The Commonwealth Distance Learning Master’s Scholarship is designed to assist postgraduate students who are pursuing Master’s degrees. This program provides scholarships for all fields of study that are offered by UK universities.


The Commonwealth Distance Learning Master’s Scholarship is a fully-funded program that supports students who require financial assistance to pursue their studies. Although the exact number of awards is not specified, multiple scholarships will be awarded to eligible candidates. The scholarship covers all tuition and examination fees, as well as study materials and tutorial support. Moreover, the scholarship provides a travel allowance to attend a face-to-face introductory workshop and an annual residential workshop.


The scholarship is open to citizens of various Commonwealth countries, Bangladesh, Belize, Botswana, Cameroon, Dominica, Eswatini, Fiji, Gabon, The Gambia, Ghana, Grenada, Guyana, India, Jamaica, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mauritius, Montserrat, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Nigeria, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Rwanda, Saint Helena, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Tanzania, Togo, Tonga, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu, and Zambia.

Eligibility Criteria

The Commonwealth Distance Learning Master’s Scholarships for 2023/24 have certain requirements that applicants must fulfill to be considered for the scholarship.

  • Applicants must be citizens of or have been granted refugee status by an eligible Commonwealth country, or be a British Protected Person.
  • They must be permanently resident in a developing Commonwealth country.
  • They should hold a first degree of at least upper second class (2:1) standard, although in some cases, a lower qualification and sufficient relevant experience may be considered.
  • Applicants must also be unable to afford to study the program without this scholarship.

Application Procedure

In order to be eligible for the Commonwealth Distance Learning Master’s Scholarship, you need to first obtain admission to an approved Master’s program at a UK university that is participating in the scholarship program. Once you have secured your admission, you can proceed to apply for the Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarship through the online application system provided by the CSC.

To provide the required information, you need to compile a comprehensive document detailing the following:

  1. Your educational background: List all your undergraduate and postgraduate qualifications obtained, including the name of the institution, degree title, and year of completion.
  2. Publications and prizes: List up to 10 publications and prizes that you have received. Include the title of the publication or prize, the year it was received, and the significance of the achievement.
  3. Employment history: Provide details of your employment history, including the name of the organization, job title, and period of employment. Explain how each job is relevant to the program you are undertaking.
  4. Statement on the relevance of your previous work experience: Provide a statement on how your previous work experience is relevant to the proposed Scholarship. Explain how it has prepared you for the program you are undertaking.
  5. Referees: List the names and positions of two referees who are qualified to comment on your capacity to benefit from the proposed Scholarship in the UK and your ability to deliver development impact afterwards. One referee must be a current employer (if applicable).
  6. Development impact statement: Provide a Development Impact statement in four parts. The four parts are as follows:

    a. The problem or challenge you are addressing b. The proposed solution or approach c. The expected outcomes or impact d. The long-term sustainability of the solution or approach.

Compile all this information into a single document and ensure that it is well-structured, clear, and concise. This will help to increase your chances of being selected for the Scholarship.


Deadline for the application is March 28th, 2023, at 16:00 (GMT).

Apply Now

Recent Blogs

More To Explore

PHD Scholarships

Master's Scholarships

Undergraduate Scholarships

Graduate Scholarships

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Get your Dream Scholarship stay updated