The Dag Hammarskjöld Fund for Journalists, Empower Your Journalism Career 2023

Share This Post

The Dag Hammarskjöld Fund for Journalists is inviting applications from skilled journalists who primarily come from developing countries in Africa, Asia (including Pacific Island nations), Latin America, and the Caribbean, and who work in print, television, radio, or internet media. This scholarship allows recipients to report on the 78th United Nations General Assembly’s discussions for roughly ten weeks. Applicants should be passionate about global events and the work of the United Nations and its affiliated organizations. Full-time and freelance journalists are both encouraged to apply.


The subject is international affairs, specifically related to the United Nations and its member agencies.


The chosen scholarship recipients will have the chance to witness and gain a more profound comprehension of the discussions held by the significant 15-member Security Council, the General Assembly, and other U.N. entities. They will also participate in press conferences and have the opportunity to ask questions of U.N. officials and government leaders.


Applicants from Asia, Africa, Latin America, the Caribbean, and the Middle East are eligible to apply for the scholarship.

Eligibility Criteria:

  1. Career journalists aged 25-35 from developing countries in Africa, Asia (including Pacific Island nations), and Latin America/the Caribbean are eligible for the scholarship. Freelance journalists can also apply (see Freelance Requirements).
  2. Applicants must have a current passport and acquire an I-1 journalist visa from a U.S. Embassy or Consulate to accept the Fellowship.
  3. Work samples submitted must be from no earlier than 2022.
  4. Applicants should be employed by recognized media organizations as print, television, radio, or web journalists.
  5. Proficiency in English is required as it is one of the primary languages used at the United Nations.
  6. The program is intended for mid-career journalists, and those younger than 25 or older than 35 are not eligible.
  7. Journalism students are not eligible for the scholarship.
  8. Journalists from European countries are not eligible unless they are still reporting to audiences in their home country.
  9. Applicants must come from Asia, Africa, Latin America, the Caribbean, and the Middle East.

Application Procedure:

To apply for the 2023 Hammarskjöld Journalism Fellowships, interested candidates should fill out and submit the online Application Form. All application materials must be in English, or with an English translation where specified. Applications that are still in progress but not submitted by the deadline will not be considered. If you have any questions, please send an email to [email protected].

Apply Now

Recent Blogs

More To Explore

PHD Scholarships

Master's Scholarships

Undergraduate Scholarships

Graduate Scholarships

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Get your Dream Scholarship stay updated